Carthaginian Monarchs



published on 18 January 2012

Until 308 BC, Carthage was ruled, at least officially, by Monarchs. Find below a list of monarchs of Carthage between 814-308 BC.

Didoian Dynasty

Dido 814-c.760 BC -queen
(unknown rulers)
Hanno I c.580-c.556 BC
Malchus c.556-c.550 BC

Magonid Dynasty

Mago I c.550-c.530 BC
Hasdrubal I c.530-c.510 BC
Hamilcar I c.510-480 BC
Hanno II 480-440 BC
Himilco I (in Sicily) 460-410 BC
Hannibal I 440-406 BC
Himilco II 406-396 BC
Mago II 396-375 BC
Mago III 375-344 BC
Hanno III 344-340 BC

Hannonian Dynasty

Hanno the Great 340-337 BC
Gisco 337-330 BC
Hamilcar II 330-309 BC
Bomilcar 309-308 BC

In 480 BC, following Hamilcar I's death, the King lost most of his power to an aristocratic Council of Elders. In 308 BC, Bomilcar attempted a coup to restore the monarch to full power, but failed, which led to Carthage becoming in name as well as in fact a republic.

Written by , published on under the following license: Creative Commons: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike. This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon this content non-commercially, as long as they credit the author and license their new creations under the identical terms.

Donate and help us!

We're a non-profit organisation and we need your help! This website costs money and we have to buy quality research material to produce great content. Our donors make this project possible. Please consider donating; even small amounts help. Thank you!

Related Books



comments powered by Disqus



Many thanks to the companies who are kindly helping us: